mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
desmo
    Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:54 am

Hi,

Just want to say Hi to everyone in the forum, I'm a hobby welder and I'm here to get schooled. lol I tried looking up how MIG is capable of welding Aluminum and I can't find a detailed explanation. I know how to MIG weld, but I don't really understand how the process/theory works either, my guess is MIG makes a short to establish an arc between the work and the electrode that is hot enough to melt the electrode :? . From the little knowledge I know about metals, Aluminum needs AC to remove/clean the oxides that melt at a much higher temperature than Al in order to get a clean weld. Seeing that most MIG is done with DC, I don't understand how it gets cleaned (aside from brush and chemical) and what not. I'm aware of the equipment needed for MIG welding Al but not very familiar with the theory. If someone could please explain the theory, I would greatly appreciate it. Please correct me if I stated anything that is incorrect and if you can recommend any good books to read, please do so.

Thanks
    Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:05 pm

MIG welding aluminum uses Electrode Positive which causes the cleaning action that you desire. (DCEP)
With TIG the AC is cycling back and forth between DCEP and DCEN.
The DCEP side does the cleaning action. Too much DCEP and your tungsten tip gets balled up and melted.

With MIG, the constant DCEP causes the aluminum spool wire to ball up and melt. (Spray transfer)

Here are a few more resources on MIG welding aluminum.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCxGeyJvQsU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_MiGrL9350
http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/ar ... les10.html
desmo

Thanks for the links and the info. Can you please explain how the DCEP and DCEN work? I'm a bit confused, I though DCEN did the penetration. I guess the heat input from DCEP is enough to penetrate the work correctly in MIG? sorry if these questions are dumb. Thanks for the help