mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
chadwarden
    Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:36 am

I'm not that experienced and am not very good and listening to the sound and reading the puddle to gauge what volts I'm running so I'm seeing if there is any way to figure out what volts you're on when using MIG welders that have dials with meaningless numbers. No, I don't have the manual for the machine and I don't think many workshops have the manual for their MIG welders. I'm asking this because I am very fussy about the voltage I use for out of position welds like vertical up (exactly 19 for vertical up). Should I just set the wire speed first and then work out my voltage? Any other ideas? Thanks in advance.
Ranger
    Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:00 pm

The old school way requires experence but you want information without giving us information like system specs or model # in order to help us help you... If you really want to know the voltage the add a cheap voltage meter display from ebay and wire it up ....
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

You can determine your Open Circuit Voltage (OCV), which is how MIGS are set (being constant-voltage machines) by opening the wire-feed clamp, turning off the gas, squeezing the trigger, and measuring the voltage (ideally between your tip and the table) with a good digital voltmeter. Adjust to your preferred volts for each process, and use a scribe to make a fine match-line between the knob indicator and the panel, and label each mark with a sharpie. Then test the accuracy by returning to each mark and re-checking the voltage.

You should be able, with clean, crisp scribe marks, to return to within 0.2V of each setting with ease.

Two cents...

Steve S
    Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:47 am

First, thank you for posting the procedure for testing the open circuit voltage. I will try this out very shortly (few jobs on the go I really must enjoy first).