mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
March993
    Tue Aug 19, 2014 12:26 am

New forum member here, and I'd really appreciate some input from the group.

I am just learning to weld as a hobby, but my welds are horrible so far and I'm really struggling with how to improve. The photo is of some 16-gauge 1.5" square tubing that I was trying to weld. I was burning through in places, leaving big sticking-up pieces of metal in others, and having a lot of pitted, uneven-looking weld.

I also think I was struggling with finding a good position, and I noticed that it is really hard to move at a consistent speed, and hard to keep from slipping or moving my hands erratically. In particular, I noticed that there is a lot of popping when I first start the arc, and my tack welds are particularly pitted and ugly.

I tried to make sure the settings were correct on my welder - I am more or less following the table on the welder to set up the wire feed speed and power, and I tested out the settings on scrap metal. But when I tried to weld the 90" joints shown in the picture (lots of welding at the edge of the material, I couldn't get any consistent decent-looking welds. Any input is appreciated.

-Marc
Attachments
IMG_0881.jpg
IMG_0881.jpg (67.82 KiB) Viewed 964 times
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Welcome to the forum, Marc!

If I can suggest, take some time to watch the WeldingTipsandTricks videos on MIG welding. You can find the videos at WeldingTipsAndTricks.com, or youtube, or Welding-TV.com. There are videos that cover all the common welding processes, and in all of them, Jody (our host of this website) stresses getting comfortable. In all of the videos he takes an unpowered practice run, setting himself up to be comfortable (or at least, not totally uncomfortable) and plans out how he'll complete the weld.