mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Welding Bear
    Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:39 pm

...sorry, couldn't resist that title :lol:

But actually it is this I am having problems with.

I'm new to mig welding but I've got two to three hours practise of running beads and I have now gone through and written down correct settings for various thicknesses to get my welder sizzling each time. I simply bought a bunch of plates from my local metal fabricators for ten pounds and have been practising and practising.

I am totally comfortable with laying beads and I always get a great 'heat leach' under the workpiece as I set up the mig for the hottest it can take without burning through and I'm actually surprised that steel down to 1.5mm is welded on the hottest setting for the welder. Im also using the 'loop to loop' technique to make them look pretty and most of all it's bloody good fun
:D

Anyhow, I digress :lol:

So I tried my first few butt welds. I tried with root gaps of varying thicknesses and still I can't get the penetration correct. I have looked online and it's definitely the case that you shouldn't be able to still see the join on the backside of the workpiece. Well, even with whatever root gap I set it still won't come through lie that and I can see the gap.

Will bevelling in addition to a root gap really help? Were these other internet sources correct when they said the weld had to come through? I bashed a welded piece about a bit and in fairness the first thing to break was the middle of the steel and not my weld join.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.

Steve
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Yes, Steve (good lord, ANOTHER Steve...),

Bevelling will help. I've done MIG root on pipe, and it sucks! Yes, bevel it. I prefer a knife-edge and a close fit.

I haven't had to do this in years, and hope never to do it again.

Steve S
Welding Bear

Will do mate, thank you!

Should I bevel it at a 45 degree angle? Cheers :)
    Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:34 am