What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

If you're looking for a different way to finish off an aluminium project where the framing is seen, like furniture, other than just spray painting it, this is a nice, fast and cheap way to get a durable and nice looking finish. I've been doing this for the last 10 years and so far no complaints.

Wipe down all the aluminium with lacquer thinner, then take a random orbital palm sander with 60 or 100 grit paper and sand the surfaces. 60 and 100 work the best, anything higher generally can't be seen very well. 150 might be as high as you would want to go. You don't have to press down too hard, but have plenty of sandpaper ready, the aluminium will clog the paper eventually. When you're done sanding, spray it with a clear lacquer to protect it. 2 coats is usually enough. After you've sanded and before you spray, you have to be very careful about smudges on the aluminium, so wash your hands before you handle it. Any smudges will have to be sanded out again. The picture shows the difference between plain aluminium on the left and sanded and sealed on the right.

If you notice on the picture, I also routed a roundover into the plate. If you've ever dealt with plate aluminium that has been sheared , you'll know why I did it!
It also makes a nice finished edge. Any router bit that is carbide tipped will route alumunium, but make sure you use a bit with a ball-bearing guide. You might have to make 2 passes for deeper cuts.

Steve
Attachments
IMG_6516.JPG
IMG_6516.JPG (116.99 KiB) Viewed 4683 times
IMG_6518.JPG
IMG_6518.JPG (82.98 KiB) Viewed 4683 times
WeldingSyncrowave 250,Millermatic 252,30a Spoolgun Cutting12" Hi-speed Cutoff Saw, 9x 12 Horizontal Bandsaw MillingGorton 8d Vertical Mill TurningMonarch EE Precision Lathe GrindingBrown & Sharpe #5 Surface Grinder
ogorir