Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Corvax7
    Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:16 pm

Hey, I am a welding student and even tho I am out of classes for the holidays I still jump out to my garage to try my hand on this joint. Pretty much same settings on .063 6061 al. 2/3 on a aluminum chill block (marked with "chill") for the rest of the joint I took off and tried my hand with no chill block. Looking for some constructive criticism and what changes I could make to have a chance at passing this when I get out of school.
Attachments
IMG_20161213_210106.jpg
IMG_20161213_210106.jpg (55.02 KiB) Viewed 646 times
Corvax7

Let's try this again
Attachments
IMG_20161213_205957.jpg
IMG_20161213_205957.jpg (65.84 KiB) Viewed 643 times
PeteM
    Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:28 am

Is that a Starret slab of granite that you're welding on?
Corvax7

I admire your sarcasm, no that is my kitchen. I have a harbor freight cheap o' folding table with my al block on top
GreinTime
    Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:20 am

Not sure it was sarcastic, as Starrett makes surface plates out of granite. It would be ill advised to weld on one as they aren't cheap in any fashion.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
#oneleggedproblems
-=Sam=-
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am