Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
BUZZMAN4177
    Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:55 pm

HI GENTS,
I AM NEW TO THE SITE BUT SEEK SOME OF YOUR INSIGHT. I HAVE DECIDED TO LEARN THE ART OF TIG WELDING ALUMINUM AND I AM HAVING FITS!!!!! I HAVE NO PROBLEM FORMING A WELD POOL WITH THE TORCH (ALL SHINY AND NICELY FLOWING) BUT THE MOMENT I TRY TO INTRODUCE THE FILLER ROD, THE POOL TURNS TO CRAP. THE POOL TURNS BLACK AND THE FILLER ROD BLOBS INTO THE POOL LIKE BLACK SUT. I RELIGIOUSLY CLEAN MY ALUMINUM AND PREHEAT WITH A TORCH PRIOR TO WELDING, I HAVE VARIED MY ARGON OUTPUT FROM 10-20 ON THE GUAGE, I HAVE HAVE CLEANED THE FILLER RODS (TRIED 3/32 AND 1/8 4043). I AM GETTING VERY DISCOURAGED. ANY INFO WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.
john.pruette

hello buzzman i am not a expert at tig welding by no means but im getting better all the time and the reason is i read everything jody says on tig welding allum-ss and i think thats what you should do and dont give up the anser is out there good luck john :D
anthonyfawley
    Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 pm

What do you have your setting at on the machine

What Ratio of argon do you have

What kind of machine do you have
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

BUZZMAN4177,

I hate to ask what's probably an obvious question, but you're using AC high-frequency (and you know it's working), 100% argon?

Are you certain of the alloy of your base metal?

With the cleaning you describe, the gas flow, and the fact your puddle forms normally, something doesn't add up.

Steve
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm

If you can get a clean shiny puddle goin and its good until you add your filler, well I would start with the filler. Maybe try buyin a fresh, small batch and see if that solves your problem? If you can get a good puddle goin with no filler, I assume you can make a short weld with no filler? Maybe try that too and see if you get any black soot.