mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Ward Cheney
    Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:40 am

I just watched the mig welding uphill on the broken fork lift brace. Since I'm a novice to intermediate welder, a simple question: Any thoughts about why Jody (if you are there, please explain) welded that with mig instead of, say, stick?

That's an easy one. I am relocating to a different shop and the mig was the only machine available that day. All other machines had been moved out
7018 Stick would have been a good choice and probly the best choice.

Best

Jody

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:30 pm

Hey Jody,
What mig machine were you using??

~John
Just a couple welders and a couple of big hammers and torches.

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024

A millermatic 250 that needed a new liner bad. It had been sitting unused for 2 years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I kinda figured, seeing the blue gun.
Good thing you didn't youse a little machine!!!!
That's some thick steel.
Great vid as usual, thanks Jody.

~John

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024
rake
    Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:19 pm

Personally I'd have probably used 8018 or 11018 for that. Most likely the 11018 since I have some in the rod oven anyways.
Great tensile strength and ductility. Overkill? Maybe but I'd rather err on the side of over than under. Any filler metal that can withstand the pressures of a few hundred feet of seawater is A-OK with me. ;) :D 8-)

Overkill is often an underrated achievement....

~John :D

Trump/Carson 2016-2024
Ward Cheney
    Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:40 am

Thanks for the reply, and for the various suggestions about stick options.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm