Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Nizztos
    Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:48 am

I'm a noob welder and since I weld infrequently my improvement rate is slow.

I have two things that gives me a headache every time I do them and I was hoping that there were some "tricks of the trade" where one can minimize the bad things that go wrong...

What are some good ways to handle tubing? Currently trying to weld 25mm (1 inch) aluminum tubes and while the bits end up holding together the process is anything but streamlined. What position is the ideal when welding tubes? Of course the geometry of the tubes might prevent that position but it would still be good to know. I think that my main issues are that I have a hard time keeping a consistent distance making me contaminate the tip and I also get the angle of the torch wrong as I go. It seems that even knowing this I can't seem to fix it.

The other type of weld that makes me use words not fit for print is inside corners. Poor penetration and hard to get the puddle to "gap" the two pieces.

Any tips suited for a beginner appreciated.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

I believe most of your frustration will go away with time. Even telling someone how to do it still you have to learn how to translate what is said to your hands and mind.
First what machine are you using and what tungsten. This wil allow us to help you with your setup. To practice pipe I would suggest cutting two say 6" pieces and coping one into the other forming a "t" laying this flat on the table and starting on the inside joint moving from bottom up, will teach you control of distance,travel speed, and hand positioning. Weld your saddle joint in 4 attempts and when you master this practice, clamp it above you at various angles like Jody has done in past videos.