Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
JCmotoTIG
    Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:55 am

Hello All,

I started welding about 2 months ago and have been doing a few hours every other day to get some practice in since then. The sole purpose of this is so I can design and build my own motorcycle exhaust. I'm a design engineer by trade, so the design bit was easy, just need to learn how to weld!

So can I get some professional feedback please on my efforts so far, just so I know what direction I'm going in? See the picture attached.
20140930_174808.jpg
20140930_174808.jpg (41.78 KiB) Viewed 730 times
Here are my setup details;

1.5" (38.1mm) OD x 18 gauge (1.2mm) 304 SS pipe
Pulse settings are: 6A (Machine minimum) to 30A, 25hz (Machine max), with pulse width at 0.4 seconds
Using the 4T torch button function on this machine has an automatic 0.5 seconds of pre-flow, and I set the Up-Slope to 3s, Down-Slope is 3.5s.
Post flow is around 4-5s
100% pure Argon at 10cfh (4-5lpm)
0.06" (1.6mm) 2% thoriated tungsten, sticking out of a 1/2" No. 8 cup by around 1/4", large gas lens, on a WP-9F torch.
Not using any filler on this as the individual pieces were nitrogen laser cut and line up perfectly.

I appreciate any advice you can give me. Cheers
dsmabe
    Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:50 pm

I'm no professional but can at least get started on replies. Overall probably better than me right now, just work on your consistency. One question though, did you purge the pipe beforehand? If not, from what I've been told, the outside may look fine but the inside can have contamination that will shorten the life of your welds.
dirtmidget33
    Tue May 13, 2014 5:22 pm