Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
pmcrafters
    Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:21 pm

I am new to tig welding and must get it down for business reasons, ive tried many times to weld with my Lincoln 275 precision tig and have no luck with aluminum. when I try to get a puddle most of the time it burns through. I set my amps to 130 and but a ball on the tip using dc+ then switch to ac. my arc is all over and I cant see to control were it hits with out getting really close. ive cleaned the metal with wire brush and acitone set my cfh to 15 ive tried different gauges of metal still doesn't make a difference. its rare when I can lay a bead and it never looks good. any and all suggestions will be taken and tried.
GreinTime
    Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:20 am

Well, as much as you probably don't want to hear this, the tighter your arc gap, the more easily directed the arc will be.

Try not balling your tungsten once, just grind it like you would for steel, but blunt the end so you it's not sharp. This is not to be done with pure tungsten, as it will ball no matter what you do. Try your run of the mill red band thoriated prepped as outlined above and give it another go.

This leads to another question. What type of joints are you trying to make? You might want to practice on a flat plate and just weld beads side by side across the whole thing to get a feel for how the puddle will look and react. Once you have a better idea on what aluminum should be doing, you will more likely be able to analyze what is happening, and then take a logical approach as to what to change and by how much.

Finally, if you list what thickness you are trying to weld, we would all be able to better determine whether your amperage is okay.