Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
ttreb4
    Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:00 am

I have a Milwakee dry cut saw. I have been using the Fredo Metal Demon blades. My previous blade lasted quite a while. I recently purchased a new blade and it only lasted 3 weeks. I'm a hobbyist so I am not using it every day. I'm curious if there are better blades that will last and not having my wife chasing me with a pitchfork because I spent too much? I am only cutting 1/8" or thinner material.
shade-tree
    Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:29 am

I used the original blade on my Milwaukee dry saw on-and-off for 2.5 years until it was stolen and it was only down to 13.5". Blade hardness is a trade off between cutting speed and life. My original was clearly a very hard blade and worked very well on thin (1/8") material. When used on anything over 1/4" it would load up when the metal heated up and would stop cutting. I tried water cooling (dangerous on electrical saws) with little success. I finally used a carbide wheel dressing stick to remove the buildup during the cut and cooled the heavier metal with compressed air - not a good solution but it got the job done. If your blades are not lasting, they are soft and therefore are cutting fast. For your thin stock try a hard one from Milwaukee. They make both types. Blades come in different grades, just like grinder wheels. For heavy stuff switch to the soft blade. There is a reason for inexpensive tools to be inexpensive. As I read elsewhere on this blog, it is not the price - it is the cost.
BTW, all the above relates to cutting 1010 - 1020 mild steel. Use the soft blade on hard steel.
Jon
    Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:05 pm

This guy converted his cold cut saw to a track saw.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9093a_TV_o
Is there a possibility of a kickback? It doesn't look too safe.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Y U NO BUY A CIRULAR SAW?? HAHA.
    Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:05 pm

Regular saws spin too fast.