Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
tigandmig
    Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:07 am

I am looking for advice with some difficulty I have when welding .25" thick aluminum diamond plate. The material was sheared. The welds are outside corner welds. The machine being used is a Dynasty 350. Obviously set to A/C, machine defaults for wave type, orange, 3/32" Tungsten, 140 amps. 4043 filler rod. Argon gas. The material tacked together fine. The problem starts about .5" into the weld. The farther I travel, the dirtier it gets. Lots of black carbon type deposits. I have to stop and grind the last portion of the weld and then restart. It's like the puddle is getting more and more dirty as I go??? I have ground out portions of the weld, and the problem returns. Tried brushing edge with stainless steel brush. No change. 80 grit sanding sponge on the edge, No change. Acetone... no change. I'm no expert, but have welded aluminum before. Am I missing something??? Is there any specific settings I can use with this material? Thanks for any/all help!!!
angus
  • angus

you could try a carbide burr.

when something is shear cut there are two things that can happen. if the shear is not a dedicated shear for aluminum, (somewhat unlikely) then you have the possibility that the blade has been contaminated with oil. the reason being the oil present on the surface of a lot of cold rolled sheet metal leaves a film on the bed and the cutting blade or if the hold downs on the shear are hydraulically actuated, over time they will occasionally leak small amounts of fluid onto the bed, onto the blade, then onto the edge of your material.

if your material was cut in an industrial job shop either of those explanations is probably why you are experiencing this issue.

a mill edge can also be an issue at times.

also, you should be running hotter and you could easily go to a 1/8th tungsten and 1/8th filler.