Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
31fords
    Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:57 pm

I hope this is the right category for my questions. A few years ago I bought my Everlast PowerPro 205 R series multi process machine which came with a # 26 TIG torch equipped with a trigger along with a foot pedal. I found this to be cumbersome and heavy and I believe this added to my difficulty in controlling the arc. Since I am a hobbyist and totally new to Tigging with lots of control problems I put it aside for future learning.

I've been watching some of Jody's videos and his welds are inspiring to say the least.

I have only used the foot pedal to verify that it is functional and it is and I havent used it since. With the # 26 torch I would press and hold the torch trigger for amperage as in the 2T setup. This would appear to be a normally open trigger switch.

I was thinking that if I purchased a lighter TIG torch with flexible hose that I would not have so much trouble controlling my tungsten from touching the puddle so I ordered and received a CK # 17 TIG torch with flexible hose along with a stubby gas lens kit but to my surprise there is no trigger switch on the it.

Being a newbie, maybe a little embarassed, now what do I do ? I'm thinking now If I'm going to use the # 17 that I have to control it with the foot pedal ? how else would I be able to tell it to supply the power ?

I emailed HTP America asking about the trigger switch and they replied that I could purchase a momentary switch which I would add to the # 17 but I would have to connect this pair to the welder. I think he said I could take the switch off the original # 26 (but its N.O. ???)

I also had written up some stuff about to introduce myself which I ended up saving as a draft but I cant figure out how to find the draft.