Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
outofround
    Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:59 am

Hello all,

I'm a moderately experienced aluminum welder who recently purchased an inverter machine (Miller 280dx), having not used one since working at an aluminum fab company many years ago.

I have been using it to weld on AC with success but one thing I have been noticing is that when I turn up the frequency too high (let's say up to 180 hZ or so) my electrode seems to instantly consume itself/deteriorate as I start my arc and try to get a puddle going. I am using a 2% ceriated ground to a dull tip, have been hopping between a 3/32" and 1/8" diameter on 1/4-3/8" thick material with the same results using both electrodes. I've been experimenting with balance between 60% and 70% or so.

Higher balance percentage seems to help but I can't seem to keep my electrode clean unless I turn my frequency way down, at which point everything seems to lay down just fine.

Have any of you ever had this experience? Any tips or info on what is happening? I don't remember having this experience. I can say for sure that I don't seem to be contaminating my electrode by dipping it into the parent material, the electrode just seems to eat itself up and retreat back to the cup when I try to start that arc.
    Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:48 am

outofround wrote:Hello all,

I'm a moderately experienced aluminum welder who recently purchased an inverter machine (Miller 280dx), having not used one since working at an aluminum fab company many years ago.