General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
arlake
    Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:41 pm

Hey,

I'm a welding student, I wear proper protection. However, I recently plasma cut without cutting shades. My left eye is killing me!!! I'm pretty sure it's not any foreign material, since my eyes aren't red at all, just stinging. I just want some affirmation that it's probably arc burning that's irritating my eye. I can't afford a doctor, and I don't qualify for this free health care people talk about... So unless I start losing my vision or my eye falls out I'm not going to a doctor.

It started on Wednesday morning, after plasma cutting. At first it was like I had something in my eyes, but nothing was there and my eyes weren't red, the first day both eyes hurt. Now, it's just my left eye, it feels like stinging pain when air gets on it (The fan in the bedroom), and if I leave my eye open watching TV or reading, it starts up again. It hurts so bad it makes me cry! Well, my eye just waters a lot :P

I'm wondering, is this what it feels like to be a dumbass? How long should it last, and is shade 5 enough for plasma cutting?
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

arlake,
First off welcome to the forum, when your eyes feel better feel free to use the introduction page.

I'll try to answer your questions. 1. Yes, that's one way to feel like a dumbass. 2. It depends on how bad you flashed yourself as to how long it hurts. 3. Yes shade five is enough to plasma cut.

Now you get my advise. Stupid's supposed to hurt, it keeps you from doing it again.

Now to trying to find you some relief. Have someone check and make sure there's nothing in your eye and if that checks out, wear sunglasses and use Clear Eyes, Visine, or something similar. Avoid sunlight and glare from the TV or computer.

Len
P.S. I'm not a doctor, but I've been dumb enough to get welders flash, albeit long ago.